Home ›› 25 Nov 2022 ›› Corporate

DU team bags Unilever’s BizMaestros 2022 champions trophy

TBP Desk
25 Nov 2022 00:00:00 | Update: 25 Nov 2022 02:37:02
DU team bags Unilever’s BizMaestros 2022 champions trophy

After a challenging contest among the top 6 finalists , team ‘Extra Drill’ from Institute of Business Administration, University of Dhaka (IBA DU) lifted the coveted champions trophy of Unilever Bangladesh’s’BizMaestros 2022.’

The finale event saw teams from Bangladesh University of Professionals (BUP), Faculty of Business Studies (FBS) and Institute of Business Administration (IBA), University of Dhaka presenting their ideas on real brands of Unilever.

The Champion team, comprised of Sibbir Riyan, Akibur Rahman and Ferdous Hasan, will now prepare for a greater stage, the international level of the competition - Unilever Future Leaders’ League (FLL) 2023, that will take place in London with participants from universities across the world.

The First Runner Up title was awarded to Team ‘Inmates’ consisting of Ishrat Jahan Ikra, Syed Fatin Ishraq, and Naeem Abrar from University of Dhaka. Team ‘Final Gambit’ was named the Second Runner Up. The Second Runner Up team members are Marjuka Ahmed Chowdhury, Shelachi Mitra, G.M. Naimuz Saadat from Bangladesh University of Professionals (BUP).

The overarching theme of BizMaestros this year was ‘Bangladesh Rising with U’. The theme focused on the potential and possibilities that the youth dividend can lead for Bangladesh from their respective areas of skills and passion.

As a platform for skilling youth for employability and entrepreneurship, BizMaestros provides the participants hands-on training, mentorship and exposure into the ways of work of leading FMCG brands throughout various rounds of the competition. Additionally, the members of the Top 6 teams will get fast-tracked into internship and management trainee programme opportunities with Unilever Bangladesh.

The grand finale event was held on Tuesday, 22nd November 2022, at Radisson Blu Dhaka Water Garden in the capital, where the 6 finalist teams were evaluated by a panel of esteemed jury consisting of Waseqa Ayesha Khan MP, Honorable Chairman, Parliamentary Standing Committee, Ministry of Power, Energy and Mineral Resources and, Finance and Planning Secretary, Bangladesh Awami League Central Committee; Md Jashim Uddin, President of Federation of Bangladesh Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FBCCI), Naser Ezaz Bijoy, Chief Executive Officer, Standard Chartered Bank Bangladesh (SCB); Zaved Akhtar, Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of Unilever Bangladesh Ltd.