Home ›› Economy

Eight individuals, institutions to get tea award Sunday

BSS . Dhaka
03 Jun 2023 17:20:45 | Update: 03 Jun 2023 19:34:28
Eight individuals, institutions to get tea award Sunday
— TBP File Photo

The government will give National Tea Award to eight individuals and institutions under eight categories for the first time on Sunday, marking the third National Tea Day.

The government introduced the award for companies and individuals to recognise their extraordinary performances in the country's tea sector, read a press release on Saturday.

Commerce Minister Tipu Munshi will hand over the award to the recipients at 10am at a function at BTRI High School ground in Sreemangal upazila of Moulvibazar as the government this year decided to organise the main programme of the day there to ensure direct participation of tea workers.

The Bangladesh Tea Board (BTB) is organising the programme with the theme “Pledge of Tea Day, Labour-friendly Tea Industry.”

Marking the day, a day-long tea fair and exhibition will be organised there, which will remain open for all.

According to the release, Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman was the first Bangalee chairman of the Tea Board from June 4, 1957 to October 23, 1958.

To make memorable the outstanding contributions of Bangabandhu to the tea industry and his joining date as Tea Board chairman, a cabinet meeting on July 20 in 2020 declared the June 4 as the National Tea Day.