Home ›› Entertainment

Loko Natyadal honours 6 thespians with awards

Staff Correspondent
07 Jul 2024 19:28:14 | Update: 07 Jul 2024 20:42:09
Loko Natyadal honours 6 thespians with awards

Loko Natyadal, one of Bangladesh's leading theatre groups, is celebrating its 43rd anniversary with a series of year-long events. Founded on July 6, 1981, the troupe has produced 32 diverse plays over the years.

As a part of the celebration, the troupe honoured six distinguished theatre personalities with the Loko Natyadal Award 2021-22. The award ceremony was held at the National Theater Hall of Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy on Saturday.

Secretary of the Ministry of Cultural Affairs Khalil Ahmad was present as the chief guest. Presided over by Loko Natyadal Director, BSA Director General Liaquat Ali Lucky, Manchasarathi Ataur Rahman was a special guest at the event.

Honorees included the late Dr Inamul Haq (posthumously), the late SM Mohsin (posthumously), Arham Alo, Shahadat Hossain Khan Hilu, Syed Dulal, and Konkan Das. On behalf of the late Dr Inamul Haq, his wife Lucky Inam, and behalf of the late SM Mohsin his son Tonmoy received the award.

The ceremony included cultural performances. BSA child dance troupe staged a dance-drama based on Rabindranath Tagore's "Birpurush". Besides, a drama titled “Ekti Shiter Ratri” directed by Liaquat Ali Lucky was staged at the event.  The event also featured chorus renditions “Dhanya Mujib Dhanya”, “Dhono Dhanya Pushpe Bhora” by the BSA child artists.

Lok Natyadal is renowned for its acclaimed productions, including "Konjus", an adaptation of Molière's "The Miser" by Tariq Anam Khan, which has been performed nearly 800 times. Another standout production, "Sonai Madhab", based on the Mymensingh Geetika, is approaching its 200th performance.

Other notable works by Lok Natyadal include "Padma Nadir Majhi", "Baikunther Khata", "Rathjatra", "Bashikaran", "Madhumala", "Shilpi", "A Midsummer Night's Dream", "Bidhi O Byatikram", "Siddhidata", "Tushagni", "Sundar", "Majratiner Manushera", "Tapaswi O Torongini", and "Thikana".