Home ›› 16 Mar 2022 ›› Front

Eleven chosen for Independence Award 2022

Staff Correspondent
16 Mar 2022 00:00:00 | Update: 16 Mar 2022 00:02:26
Eleven chosen for Independence Award 2022

The government on Tuesday announced names of 10 individuals and one institution as the recipients of the Independence Award, the country’s highest civilian award, for 2022.

Ilias Ahmed Chowdhury, Colonel Khondkar Nazmul Huda (posthumous), Abdul Jalil, Siraj Uddin Ahmed, Mohammad Sahiudiin Biswas (posthumous) and Sirazul Haque (posthumous) have been named for their contributions to Independence and the Liberation War.

Prof Dr Kanak Kanti Barua and Prof Dr Md Kamrul Islam will receive the highest state award for their contributions to medicine, the Cabinet Division said in a notification on Tuesday.

Md Amir Hamza will get the award for his contribution to literature and Syed Mainul Hossain (posthumous) for his contribution to architecture.

Bangladesh Wheat and Maize Research Institute has also been chosen for the award in the research and training category.

Bangladesh has been honouring individuals and institutions with the award every year ahead of Independence Day since 1977.