Home ›› National


US funds project to reduce human trafficking

TBP Desk
27 Feb 2024 16:44:35 | Update: 27 Feb 2024 17:47:14
US funds project to reduce human trafficking
— Courtesy Photo

Chargé d’Affaires at the US Embassy in Dhaka Helen LaFave on Tuesday said the ‘AugroJatra’ project will help the government of Bangladesh better understand how climate change impacts fishers and farmers and provide evidence about the best actions to take to mitigate the risks of increasing trafficking in persons among these vulnerable populations in Bangladesh.

The United States said it will continue to support Bangladesh in strengthening its capacity and mobilizing resources to accelerate implementation of climate adaptation, resilience, and mitigation measures to minimize risks of climate-vulnerable populations becoming human trafficking victims, read a press release.

Helen LaFave joined AKM Tipu Sultan, Additional Secretary (Political and ICT Wing), Public Security Division, Ministry of Home Affairs, and representatives of other ministries as well as local and international organisations at the official launch of the Bangladesh Program to End Modern Slavery (B-PEMS) the ‘AugroJatra’ project, implemented by Winrock International.

The programme underlines the commitment by Bangladesh and the United States to work together to combat both human trafficking and climate change, said the US Embassy in Dhaka.

With support from the US Department of State, AugroJatra will enhance knowledge on the link between climate change, human trafficking, and modern slavery.

By gathering evidence throughout Bangladesh, the project will reduce vulnerability to exploitation and human trafficking that often accompanies loss of property and livelihoods caused by climate change among farming and fishing households, said the US Embassy.

The project aims to improve climate-resilient livelihoods for at-risk populations and encourage cross-integration of climate change adaptation and human trafficking prevention into policies and plans.

The project will be implemented across 11 districts in Bangladesh, including Rangpur, Gaibandha, Lalmonirhat, Faridpur, Shariatpur, Madaripur, Khulna, Satkhira, Bagerhat, Barishal, and Patuakhali.