Home ›› 05 Jan 2022 ›› News

Sammobadi Dal wants election-time govt under PM

UNB . Dhaka
05 Jan 2022 00:00:00 | Update: 05 Jan 2022 00:21:49
Sammobadi Dal wants election-time govt under PM
A six-member delegation of Bangladesh Sammobadi Dal, led by Dr Dilip Barua, calls on President Abdul Hamid at Bangabhaban on Tuesday – PID Photo

A delegation of Bangladesh Sammobadi Dal on Tuesday met President Abdul Hamid at Bangabhaban to present their views and proposals on the formation of a new Election Commission for holding the 12th parliamentary polls.

The six member delegation of  Bangladesh Sammobadi Dal led by Dr.Dilip Barua took part in the discussion at the Durbar Hall of the president’s house, according to Joynal Abedin, press secretary to the president.

Welcoming them at Bangabhaban, President Hamid said that formation of Election Commission is the constitutional responsibility of the president. The views and suggestions of the political parties play an important role in forming an election commission acceptable to all.

He said that it is important to ensure political etiquette and healthy environment in the politics for a fair and credible election while the political parties will have to blow the whistle.

During the talks, the delegation expressed its gratitude to the President for initiating discussions with the political parties on the formation of the Election Commission.

The party submitted a five-point proposal including enactment of law on the next EC.

It also urged the president to form a council consisting of constitutional bodies to form a search committee in the absence of law.

Alongside, it proposed the formation of an election-time government under the leadership of the prime minister.

President Hamid opened the dialogue on formation of the next EC on December 20. The current EC is scheduled to end its five-year term in February next.

So far 13 of 25 political parties who were invited in phases joined the talks.

According to Bangabhaban press wing, the other parties invited for the dialogue are - Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam Bangladesh on January 5, Gono Front and Liberal Democratic Party ( LDP) on Jaof ary 6, Krishak Janata League and Bangladesh Muslim League ( BML) on January 9,  Jatiya Party ( JP) and Jatiya Somajtantrik Dal (JSD) on January 10 and Islami Front Bangladesh and Bangladesh National Awami Party on January 11.

The country has now 39 registered political parties, according to the EC website and only nine of them have representation in Parliament.

The nine parties are Bangladesh Awami League, Jatiya Party, Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP), Bangladesh Workers Party, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal-Jasod, Bikalpadhara Bangladesh, Ganoforum, Bangladesh Tarikat Federation and Jatiya Party-JP.