Home ›› Politics


Nayapaltan clash: Over 3,000 BNP activists, others sued

UNB . Dhaka
08 Dec 2022 18:40:36 | Update: 08 Dec 2022 20:01:56
Nayapaltan clash: Over 3,000 BNP activists, others sued
— Courtesy Photo

Police filed four cases at Ramna, Shahjahanpur, Motijheel and Paltan police stations against 720 BNP activists and over 2,400 unnamed people in connection with Wednesday’s clash with BNP that left one person dead and many injured.

Faruq Hossain, Deputy Commissioner of Dhaka Metropolitan Police revealed the information at a press briefing in the capital’s DMP Media Centre on Thursday.

So far 500 people have been arrested in this regard, he said.

Of the BNP men, 450 were accused in the case filed at Nayapaltan police station, 20 in Motijheel police station case, 167 in Ramna and seven in Shahjahanpur police station case.

Among 42 injured police members,16 are under treatment at Rajarbagh Central Police Hospital and another at Dhaka Medical College and Hospital (DMCH), said Deputy Commissioner Faruq Hossain.

He said police filed a case against 473 BNP activists and 15,00-2,000 anonymous people at Paltan police station on charges of assault on police and under the Explosives Substances Act over the Wednesday’s incident.

They were accused of keeping explosive materials at the BNP party office, attacking police and sabotage.

After the clash, 473 BNP leaders and activists were arrested from the party’s central office and surrounding areas who were named in this case.

Md Sahidul Osman Masum, Sub Inspector and in-charge of Siddheswari police outpost under Ramna model police station filed a case against 167 leaders and activists of BNP and its assciate bodies and many unnamed ones under the penal code and the Explosive Substances Act Amendment 2002 on Thursday.

Rawnaqul Islam Srabon, president of Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal central committee, Fazlur Rahman Khokon, former president of JCD central committee, and Md Saiful, organizational secretary of Jubo Dal Ramna committee are among the accused in this case.

Besides, Rafiqul Islam, Sub-Inspector of Shahjahanpur police station filed a case against 52 BNP activists and 200 to 250 anonymous people under different sections of the Penal Code and the Explosive Substances Act (Amendment 2002).

Nazrul Islam Shikdar, sub-inspector of Motijheel Police Station filed a case against 28 BNP activists and leaders at Motijeel Police station under the Explosive Substances Act.

Police fired teargas and used batons during a clash with BNP activists at Nayapalton on Wednesday, leaving a man dead and several others injured on Wednesday.

BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir on Wednesday claimed that two leaders of their party’s student wing Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal were killed and over 100 others were injured in an attack by police when bullets were fired in front of their party’s Nayapaltan central office.

However, police said they detained over 300 leaders and activists of the BNP from the party's Nayapaltan headquarters after the clash.

The detained leaders included BNP Senior Joint Secretary General Ruhul Kabir Rizvi and Publication Secretary Shahiduddin Chowdhury Annie.