The Business Post
Sunday, April 11, 2021

Home Politics

TBP Desk
31 Mar 2021 14:49:33

Voting in four municipalities progresses

Voting in four municipalities progresses

The polling is going on in two municipalities and two wards of two other municipalities of the country as the Election Commission (EC) earlier postponed the elections to these localities for different reasons.

The voting began at 8am through Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) and it will continue till 4pm.

The municipalities where the polling is progressing are – Jashore of Jashore district and Kalkini of Madaripur district while the general wards are -- number 9 of Shibganj municipality under Chapainawabganj district and 7 of Thakurgaon municipality under Thakurgaon district.

Due to the fresh surge of Covid-19 pandemic throughout the country, the EC will take a final decision tomorrow regarding the first phase of the Union Council elections which is scheduled to be held on April 11.