The Business Post
Saturday, September 25, 2021

Home Politics

Cumilla-7 by-poll: Pran Gopal gets AL ticket

11 Sep 2021 14:26:35 | Update: 11 Sep 2021 15:08:26
Cumilla-7 by-poll: Pran Gopal gets AL ticket
Dr Pran Gopal Dutta. — UNB File Photo

Dr Pran Gopal Dutta has got the Awami League nomination for Cumilla-7 parliamentary by-poll slated for October 7. The seat fell vacant following the death of Prof Ali Ashraf.

As per schedule, the deadline for the submission of nominations is September 13, while the date for the scrutiny of nomination papers is September 14 and the last date for the withdrawal of candidature is September 19.

The decision to field Dr Pran was taken at the joint meeting of Awami League parliamentary nomination board and Awami League nomination board for local government election.

Awami League President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina presided over the meeting held at her official residence Ganabhaban in Dhaka on Saturday.

The ruling party also picked its candidates for contesting the by-elections in nine upazila parishads and by-poll in Godagari municipality in Rajshahi and Dhaka South City Corporation wards.

The Awami League chairman aspirants for the by-polls in nine upazilas are -- Mostafa Farid Ahmed Chowdhury for Sadar upazila in Jashore, Nzma Sarwar for Kachua upazila in Bagerhat, Mohammad Shamsul Alam Bhuiya for Sonargaon upazila in Narayanganj, Aftab Uddin Bhuiya for Sadar upazila in Narsingdi, Rakibul Hasan Shibli for Bajitpur upazila in Kishoreganj, Rabbani Zabbar for Khaliajuri upazila in Netrakona, Vanu Lal Roy for Srimangal upazila in Moulvibazar, Nasrin Zahan Chowdhury for Shahrasti upazila in Chandpur, and Sushen Chandra Sheel for Sadar upazila in Feni.

Meanwhile, the ruling party has announced its aspirants for contesting by-elections in two municipalities. The aspirants are Ayez Uddin Biswas for the Godagari municipality of Rajshahi, and Mohammad Ziaul Haque of No 73 ward of Dhaka South City Corporation.