The Business Post
Saturday, September 25, 2021

Home Politics

Pran Gopal Dutta is AL’s pick for Comilla-7 bypoll

UNB . Dhaka
12 Sep 2021 00:00:00 | Update: 12 Sep 2021 04:40:18
Pran Gopal Dutta is AL’s pick for Comilla-7 bypoll
Dr Pran Gopal Dutta

Dr Pran Gopal Dutta has got the Awami League (AL) nomination for Comilla-7 parliamentary bypoll slated for October 7. The seat fell vacant following the death of Prof Ali Ashraf.

As per schedule, the deadline for the submission of nominations is September 13, while the date for the scrutiny of nomination papers is September 14 and the last date for the withdrawal of candidature is September 19.

The decision to field Dr Pran was taken at the joint meeting of AL parliamentary nomination board and AL nomination board for local government election.

AL president and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina presided over the meeting held at her official residence Gonobhaban.

The ruling party also picked its candidates for contesting the by-elections in nine upazila parishads and bypoll in Godagari municipality in Rajshahi and Dhaka South City Corporation wards.

The Awami League chairman aspirants for the bypolls in nine upazilas are -- Mostafa Farid Ahmed Chowdhury for Sadar upazila in Jashore district, Nzma Sarwar for Kachua upazila in Bagerhat district, Mohammad Shamsul Alam Bhuiya for Sonargaon upazila in Narayanganj district, Aftab Uddin Bhuiya for Sadar upazila in Narsingdi district, Rakibul Hasan Shibli for Bajitpur upazila in Kishoreganj, Rabbani Zabbar for Khaliajuri upazila in Netrakona district, Vanu Lal Roy for Srimangal upazila in Moulvibazar district, Nasrin Zahan Chowdhury for Shahrasti upazila in Chandpur district, and Sushen Chandra Sheel for Sadar upazila in Feni district.

Meanwhile, the ruling party has announced its aspirants for contesting by-elections in two municipalities. The aspirants are Ayez Uddin Biswas for the Godagari municipality of Rajshahi division, and Mohammad Ziaul Haque of No 73 ward of Dhaka South City Corporation.