Home ›› 26 Jan 2022 ›› Show Biz

Shilpi Samity Polls

Ilias-Nipun panel introduces candidates

Staff Correspondent
26 Jan 2022 00:00:00 | Update: 26 Jan 2022 00:45:55
Ilias-Nipun panel introduces candidates
Ilias Kanchan and Nipun Akter, among others, in the programme at Moghbazar Convention Centre – Courtesy Photo

Actor Ilias Kanchan and actress Nipun Akter-led panel for the election to the Bangladesh Chalachchitra Shilpi Samity executive committee introduced all its candidates at a function at a convention centre in Dhaka on Tuesday.

The election is scheduled to be held on January 28.

The panel also made a number of pledges at the programme.

Speakers at the programme said if they win in the polls, they will facilitate support for the ailing and insolvent artistes as per the Bangladesh Film Artists’ Welfare Trust Bill, 2021 which was passed at the Jatiya Sangsad in July last year.

At the programme, the panelists also promised to establish a training institute for artistes offering various courses on acting and dance. The institute will also feature a gymnasium, they said.

The panelists also vowed to work on strengthening relationship among various organisations on art and culture and facilitating working opportunity for local artists in foreign films. 

Their other pledges include holding seminar and workshop for artistes on regular basis and produce seven films on the Samity’s expense each year.

Panelists including actors Riaz, DA Tayeb, Ferdous Ahmed, Symon Sadik, Nirab Hossain, Mamnun Emon, Keya, Shahnoor, Arman, who are contesting for various posts from Ilias-Nipun panel, attended the introductory programme.

Ilias Kanchan will contest for the post of president in this year’s polls to the Shilpi Samity while Nipun Akter will battle for secretary general’s post.

The other participating panel is led by actors Misha Sawdagar and Zayed Khan who earlier won polls to the same artists’ organisation.

A total of 428 voters are expected to cast ballots in the polls.

Actor Pirzada Harun will execute his role as election commissioner while film director Sohanur Rahman Rahman will be the chairman of an appeal board during the polls.