Home ›› 26 May 2023 ›› Sport

BKSP, Mohammedan win in WDPL opening day

Staff Correspondent
26 May 2023 00:00:00 | Update: 25 May 2023 22:45:23
BKSP, Mohammedan win in WDPL opening day
Women’s DPL 2023 being inaugurated at BKSP – BCB Photo

BKSP and Mohammedan Sporting Club won their respective matches on the opening day of the Dhaka Premier Division Women’s Cricket League 2023 on Thursday.

BKSP defeated City Club Women’s Cricket Team by 66 runs at BKSP-1 Ground in Savar.

BKSP won the toss and opted to bat first.

BKSP scored 208-6 after 50 overs depending on Sumaiya Akter’s 65. Wicket-keeper Unnoti Akter scored 35 while Marufa Atker added another 32. Skipper Rabeya Khatun scored 15.

City Club skipper Disha Biswas and Rupa Abedin took two wickets each while Suma Rani Roy took another.

Chasing BKSP’s 208, City Club stumbled as they lost both the openers within the sixth over, and they were down to 13-2 at the moment.

Fatema Tuz Johora then tried to bring her team back into the fight with Sabikun Nahar Choity as they made a 71-run third-wicket stand but after Choity was out on 33, Fatema soon followed and City Club‘s innings ended on 142-9 after 50 overs resulting in BKSP winning the game.

Champions start with victory

In the other match at BKSP, defending champions Mohammedan won their match against Kalabagan Krira Chakra Women’s Cricket Team by 32 runs.

Mohammedan scored 234-8 in their 50 overs after being sent to bat first depending on Sharmin Supta’s 73 and Ayesha Rahman’s 54.

Mohammedan lost opener Jasia Akter in the very first over of their innings but Sharmin and Ayesha then added 133 runs together for the second wicket. After Ayesha and Sharmin were out, skipper Salma Khatun and Rumana Ahmed scored 33 and 25 respectively to take their team to 234-8.

Kalabagan KC’s Fariha Trishna took three wickets while Kulsuma and Lakhi Khatun bagged two each.