Home ›› Sports


BCB announces ODI squad for India series

UNB . Dhaka
24 Nov 2022 21:39:44 | Update: 24 Nov 2022 21:58:45
BCB announces ODI squad for India series
Bangladesh's players celebrate the wicket of Pakistan's Babar Azam during the Twenty20 tri-series cricket match between Pakistan and Bangladesh at Hagley Oval in Christchurch on October 13, 2022 — AFP Photo

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Thursday announced the 16-member squad for the three-match one-day international (ODI) series against India starting on December 4 at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka.

Tamim Iqbal will lead the team in this series as the regular ODI captain. He was out of the national team for a long time as the team was busy playing Asia Cup and T20 World Cup.

Mahmudullah Riyad and Mushfiqur Rahim are all set to return to the national team with this series.

They were also out of the Bangladesh setup when the World Cup took place in Australia. While Mahmudullah was overlooked by the selectors and Mushfiqur retired from the T20 format.

Anamul Haque Bijoy is also in the ODI team. He hit two fifties in his last three ODIs against Zimbabwe. He was also part of the T20 team in the Zimbabwe series but was axed from the World Cup squad.

Mosaddek Hossain, Taijul Islam and Shoriful Islam were overlooked for this series. They were part of the Bangladesh team in the last ODI series against Zimbabwe.

To replace them, Bangladesh included Shakib Al Hasan, who was out of the Zimbabwe series due to personal reasons, Yasir Ali and Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury.

The second ODI match will be played on December 7 while the last match on December 10. The first two matches will take place in Dhaka and the last one will be hosted in Chattogram’s Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium.

After the ODI series, Bangladesh will take on India in a two-match Test series. The first Test will be played in Chattogram and the second in Dhaka.


Tamim Iqbal (Captain), Liton Das, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Yasir Ali, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Ebadot Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Mahmudullah Riyad, Najmul Hossain Shanto, and Nurul Hasan Sohan