Home ›› Sports


Bangladesh, India, Pakistan in same group

UNB . Dhaka
04 Jul 2024 17:08:01 | Update: 04 Jul 2024 17:15:16
Bangladesh, India, Pakistan in same group

The next edition of the ICC Champions Trophy will take place in Pakistan next year. Reports suggest that Bangladesh are placed in Group A of this event along with India, Pakistan, and New Zealand.

India's participation in this event has not yet been confirmed due to security concerns and strained diplomatic relations with Pakistan. Nonetheless, Pakistan has submitted a proposed schedule to the ICC, in which both teams are in the same group with Bangladesh and New Zealand.

India last visited Pakistan in 2006. Since then, diplomatic relations between the two neighboring countries have deteriorated, resulting in a six-year hiatus from bilateral series. The last bilateral series occurred from late 2012 to early 2013 when Pakistan traveled to India.

During the 2023 Asia Cup, India refused to participate as the hosts were Pakistan. Due to India's refusal, the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) was forced to host the Asia Cup across venues in Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

According to reports, while Bangladesh, India, and Pakistan are in Group A, Australia, England, South Africa, and Afghanistan are in Group B of the upcoming Champions Trophy. However, the ICC will announce the official schedule soon.

Among the Test-playing teams, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe, and Ireland failed to qualify for this edition of the Champions Trophy. Pakistan are the current champions, having won the title in 2017 by beating India in the final.

The draft schedule suggests that Pakistan and India will face off on March 1 in Lahore. The other two venues are Rawalpindi and Karachi.