International Cricket Council (ICC) charged Indian umpire Jatin Kashyap with breaching two counts of the ICC Anti-Corruption Code on Monday.
Kashyap now has 14 days from May 19 to respond to the charges.
In an official statement, ICC said that Kashyap breached Articles 2.4.6 and 2.4.7 of the code.
Article 2.4.6 states failing or refusing, without compelling justification, to cooperate with the Anti-Corruption Unit’s (ACU) investigation in relation to possible Corrupt Conduct under the Code, while Article 2.4.7 states obstructing or delaying the ACU’s investigation in relation to possible Corrupt Conduct under the Code, including (without limitation) concealing, tampering with or destroying any documentation or other information that may be relevant to that investigation and/or that may be evidence of or may lead to the discovery of evidence of Corrupt Conduct under the Code.
According to reports, Kashyap was charged with attempting to corrupt players during the 2022 Asia Cup Qualifiers in Oman. He was not officiating in the tournament, and is not part of any ICC panel of umpires.