Home ›› Sports

Liton claims Sports Person of the Year

Women’s Team skipper Sabina Khatun wins Popular Choice Award
Staff Correspondent
28 May 2023 19:13:11 | Update: 28 May 2023 19:15:33
Liton claims Sports Person of the Year
— Courtesy Photo

Bangladesh National Team cricketer Liton Das, for his outstanding performances last year, won the Bangladesh Sports Press Association’s Sports Person of the Year award.

Bangladesh Women’s Football Team Sabina Khatun, who guided Bangladesh to South Asian supremacy by winning the SAFF Championship last year, won the Popular choice award.

On Sunday, BSPA organised the Kool-BSPA sports award 2022 at   Pan Pacific Sonargaon Hotel in Dhaka, where the state minister for Youth and Sports of the People's Republic of Bangladesh, Zahid Ahsan Russel, was present as chief guest and distributed awards among the winners.

Liton also took home the best male cricketer award, while Bangladesh Women’s Cricket Team skipper Nigar Sultana Joty took the award in the female category.

Sabina won the best female footballer award, while Bashundhara Kings forward Robson De Silva took the male best footballer award.

Bangladesh Women’s Team head coach Golam Rabbani Choton was awarded the best coach award, while Bangladesh Women's Football team and Bangladesh physically challenged cricket team received special felicitation.


Liton Das (Best cricketer, male), Nigar Sultana Joty (Best cricketer, female), Robson De Silva (Best Footballer, male), Sabina Khatun (Best Footballer, female), Nasrin Akter (Best Archer), Ashraful Islam (Best Hockey player), Imranur Rahman (Best Athlete, Track and Field), Golam Rabbani Choton (Best Coach), Nafiz Iqbal, Sifat Ullah Ghalib (Emerging players), Amirul Islam (Grassroot level Organiser), Sumita Rani (Special honours), Bangladesh Kabaddi Federation (Best Organisation), and Special Felicitation for Bangladesh Women's Football team and Bangladesh physically challenged cricket team.