Home ›› Sports


PM to gift prize money to SAFF women champions

UNB . Dhaka
22 Sep 2022 13:57:57 | Update: 22 Sep 2022 14:01:22
PM to gift prize money to SAFF women champions
Bangladesh national team players and staff celebrate with the SAFF Women's Championship 2022 trophy in Kathmandu, Nepal on Monday – BFF Photo

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will gift prize money to all the players of Bangladesh Women Football Team who clinched the title of SAFF Women’s Championship.

The premier will also gift houses to those players who need abodes as she has already ordered the authorities concerned to collect information about the conditions of players’ houses.

Hasina, who is now in New York to attend the 77th United Nations General Assembly (UNGA), will provide the prize money and houses after returning home, PM’s Press Secretary Ihsanul Karim told UNB on Thursday.

Earlier on Wednesday, the PM directed to build a house for Rupna Chakma, the goalkeeper of Bangladesh Women Football Team, in her hometown Rangamati.

She gave the directive after a picture of Rupna Chakma's dilapidated house went viral on social media and came to her notice.

Later, the news came to the notice of the PM that another player needs a house. So, the prime minister directed the authorities concerned to get information on the condition of other players’ houses.

The Bangladesh women team lifted the SAFF women's title 2022 by beating four-time finalists and hosts Nepal 3-1 in Kathmandu on September 19.

The SAFF champions were received warmly after their return home on Wednesday in an open-deck victory parade from Shahjalal International Airport to Motijheel amid cheers from jubilant fans.

The bus was decorated with images of the footballers along with a big image of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina holding a football.

Before the flight arrived in Dhaka, thousands of supporters arrived in groups and waited outside the airport. They were shouting slogans, congratulating the proud players.

Bangladesh beat Maldives, Pakistan, India and Nepal on their way to the ultimate victory. Bangladesh scored 23 goals in the event and conceded only one in the final.