Home ›› Sports

Russell blitz takes Comilla to 154-6

Staff Correspondent
01 Mar 2024 20:33:38 | Update: 01 Mar 2024 21:28:58
Russell blitz takes Comilla to 154-6
Fortune Barishal players celebrate taking a wicket during their BPL final match against Comilla Victorians at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium on Friday – Shamsul Haque Ripon

Andre Russell’s blasting 27 off 14 took Comilla Victorians to 154-6 as they face Fortune Barishal in the final of the ongoing 10th edition of Bangladesh Premier League at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka on Friday.

Fortune Barishal need 155 to secure their first BPL title.

Earlier, Barishal skipper Tamim Iqbal opted to field first winning the toss and sent Comilla Victorians to bat first.

Coming to bat, Comilla stumbled early as they lost their opener Sunil Narine in the first over. Liton Das and Tawhid Hridoy kept the Victorians going but after Tawhid was out for 15, Barishal took control of the game.

Comilla managed 49 runs in the powerplay losing 3 wickets.

Mahidul Islam Ankon’s resilient 38 and Jaker Ali’s 20 helped the Victorians get over the pressure while Atheir Caribbean superstar Andre Russel played an blasting 27 off just 14 balls to get them over the 150 mark.

James Fuller bagged two wickets for Fortune Barishal with the ball while Kyle Mayers, Mohammad Saifuddin, and Obed McCoy took a wicket each.