Home ›› World ›› Asia

ECP announces final results of Pakistan's election

TBP Online
11 Feb 2024 15:04:18 | Update: 11 Feb 2024 16:00:32
ECP announces final results of Pakistan's election
Supporters of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) protest outside a temporary election commission office in Peshawar on February 10, 2024 — AFP Photo

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Sunday announced the complete results of the country's General Election 2024 held on February 8.

According to the election results announced for the National Assembly (NA), or the lower house of the country's parliament, independent candidates got 101 seats, the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) of former prime minister Nawaz Sharif got 75 seats and the Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarians of former foreign minister Bilawal Bhutto Zardari got 54 seats, reports Xinhua.

The Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan got 17 seats, the Jamiat Ulama-e-Islam Pakistan got four seats, the Pakistan Muslim League got three seats, the Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party and Balochistan National Party got two seats each, while Majlis Wahdat-e-Muslimeen Pakistan, Pakistan Muslim League (Zia-ul-Haq Shaheed), Pashtoonkhwa National Awami Party Pakistan, Balochistan Awami Party, Pashtoonkhwa Milli Awami Party and the National Party got one seat each.

The ECP announced the result of 262 out of 266 seats for the NA after the country held general elections on February 8 to elect a government for the next five-year term.

The election body of the country postponed voting for one seat due to the death of a candidate and withheld the result for one seat and announced partial re-voting for it.